Living in a country when you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious serius social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extents do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living in a country where language is not a mother tongue can socially cause a severe issue, as well as practical problems. I totally agree with this statement. First, being a foreigner in a workplace means one has to face a severe culture shock, not only in the office but in the whole society. This can lead them to less chance of being successful in their careers. For instance, according to a recent study from the Faculty of Economics, at Harvard University, 80% of the U.S. citizens working in Thailand have difficulty adapting themselves to Thai traditional norms. This has led those American expats to move back to their mother country. Moreover, being environed by those whose language and culture are different takes a huge amount of effort. Other colleagues need no adaptation at all but an expatriate does need to blend in. Negatively standing out can distract them from a proper working promotion, when compared to other local staff in particular. Secondly, lower self-esteem is another harsh problem that cannot be overlooked. Working in countries where most citizens speak differently can lead a foreign employee to less confidence, particularly when it comes to working in a team, which requires a flow of practical communication. To illustrate further, a recent poll conducted by the New York Times revealed that two-thirds of American employees will willingly resign if they are given the opportunity from other firms back home. Lastly, it is undeniable that the opportunity to be promoted can hardly be provided for an expat due to the obstacles of a different language spoken. Unless one is a local resident, promotion can barely be given to him with or without an outstanding performance. To conclude, working in a country where most companies do not speak similarly can lead an employee to severe issues not only because of a culture shock and a different environment but also lower self-esteem and fewer working opportunities.