Universities should be concerned with educating people so that they have wide general knowledge and be able to, consider important matters from an informed viewpoint, and not simply prepare students for jobs required by society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Colleges must create a syllabus for its students, so that they have varied general knowledge in order to make conscious decisions in crucial matters instead of preparing them merely for the workplace. I certainly agree with the viewpoint held. Individuals choose universities based on the career choice they are aiming for. For example, if a student wishes to become a doctor he will study science, or if he wants to be a teacher he will study humanities. Educational institutions are viewed, as buildings that embody knowledge. They exist, because of a clearly defined goal to impart information to generations of mankind. Although it is a mandate for schools to teach pupils' skills required for the designated job, it is crucial to learn general knowledge as well. For example, a child must know the name of his country's president, national animal, or sport etc. These may seem as trivial requirements, but are nevertheless vital. An overview of news around the world shapes the mindset of people. They are able to participate in activities that involve their civil rights for instance, voting. But if citizens are unaware of the larger picture, certain outcomes will affect them. On the contrary, there is also an increase in unemployment. Society has always set ground rules for different stages of life. Even though learners spend huge funds on courses for their dream job, they are unable to secure a job. This situation of demand, and supply may have some discrepancies. In conclusion, it is important to have knowledge outside the syllabus requirements.