Some people think that libraries are a waste of resources and money,so computers should replace them. However, others do not agree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Certain individuals are of the opinion that structures such as libraries results in lavish spending of money and resources, thus, should be substituted for computers. Despite the academic heights and results that can be achieved with a computer, it cannot be compared with the additional benefits of using a library, hence computers should be incorporated in libraries rather than replacing them. Computers are paramount when it comes to academic research, presentation of topics, online study and official task. In recent times, an internet connected computer makes online study and work easier, as any topic can easily be researched and the official task done speedily, although, distractions can be a major drawback. As pop-up adverts, movies and games can basically take one off-course thereby decreasing individual output. For instance, a colleague got distracted by a movie advert that popped up during an online lesson. On the other hand, libraries are secluded structures built with aim of academic purpose and a supervisor or librarian who oversees the activities of library users and ensures silence. Hence the level of distraction is decreased as users are aware of the rules in the library and are well able to comply, focus and achieve a set out task. Other benefits include free access to a variety of books, written papers and previous research topics. People are also exposed to colleagues with greater ideas which cannot be assessed on a laptop. In my opinion, every library should have a computer section for library users as this would maximize efficiency and improve academic results. In conclusion, though people believe that libraries are a waste of funding and resources, laptops cannot replace the serenity, the level of focus and optimal working environment that can be achieved in a study centre. Hence, computers should be incorporated in libraries to achieve a maximum working environment and results.