In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

Before embarking on college many young people are advised that spending a year working or travelling may be a good option. This essay will suggest that saving money is the biggest advantage of this plan and a reduced motivation to study is the primary disadvantage. Third -level education is very expensive and lots of students decide to work for 12 months and save up money before they begin their studies. This allows them to pay for their living costs, tuition fees and accommodation and focus on their studies, rather than struggle financially or have to get a part time job on top of their academic work. The Times recently reported that the average student at a UK university requires over $12,000 per annum just surviving and many drop out because they cannot afford to stay. Despite these advantages, many students often get used to working or travelling and don’t want to be a student again after a year off. This short term view can cause some students to completely bypass university and go straight into a job that is beneath their capabilities or may not offer the same prospects their future career might have done. For instance, a recent survey by the British Government found that 26% of students who take a gap-year never enter tertiary education. In conclusion, taking a break from studies can be advantageous if it allows people to gather up savings, however, they should also be careful that it does not lead to disillusionment with education altogether. (252 words)