Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

More and more children are enrolled in educational institutions by their parents so they can be formally trained. Many individuals are of the school of thought that it is the sole responsibility of the parents to bring up their children properly, some others are of the opinion that the mandate lies with the institutes the children attends. This essay will discuss the reasons why bringing up a child properly to be a virtuous global citizen is the duty of the parents. Academic institutions should be able to go beyond the formal education and pass along moral values to students attending their schools because they have more interaction with other students of their age brackets and these takes place mostly at their institutes of formal education. Consequently, these places may be able to use this as an avenue to enforce some discipline. For example, a school in Australia recorded an 11% reduction in the average weight of pupils attending the school when the authorities banned the students from bringing junk food. Instead, they encouraged healthy eating and living by serving vegetarian diet in the academy’s cafeteria. Thus, institutions may have more power to guide young adults than we initially thought. However, placing such responsibility on the school would distract them from their primary purpose, which is to train children formally. Moreover, the parents probably are the first set of individuals a child will come across in life. Therefore, they have an upper hand of moulding their offspring to just the kind of person they would like them to turn out to be in the future. In conclusion, although I think bringing up children is the responsibility of parents, the teachers too have a duty to perform in making sure that the next generation of citizens are good individuals of the society.