Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a different sentiment on the subject that must be chosen by university students. While others think it is better to give them a freedom for that occassion, I personally agree with the notion to limit the study only for the useful subjects. This essay will discuss further the plausible reasons for both views alongside my given argument on each of them. On the one hand, hand in a liberty for university students to learn subjects that appeal their personal can help them to navigate their own interests. Technically, some learners cannot easily track their passion after entering university; thus, expose them to various course options can aid them to incrementally recognise their area of interests. For instance, the programme called ' one year extension' that allows Singaporean secondary graduates to experience at least four weeks trials in all university subjects, successfully enables them to find the desired programmes that align with their passion. However, I do not think this is an effective solution since it can waste time and money. On the other hand, enrolling them insightful courses in the long run can help them to have a better future in society. Reflecting from phenomena in the present times, where several courses are already judged have unrelevant and vague futures, embark as a primary factor, especially for parents, to drive their children studying another course. It can be seen from the given survey by the OECD that revealed almost 78% of American parents began demand their sons and daughters to enroll in science-or-technology-based university such as MIT or Harvard University, since they raise concern about their future by looking at the vast growth of Artifical Intelligence systems that can replace their competencies in the long run. Through extended interviews, those parents also claimed that those fields are the safest and prominent ones with enormous career prospects and opportunities. From the given phenomena; therefore, I agree with the policy to start limiting subjects for university students as it can help them to build a better carreer path in the long term. In conclusion, notwitstanding with the fact that the liberty to choose university courses can aid them to navigate their area of interests, it can certainly be waste of time and money. Hence, I support the idea that it is better to limit them with certain subjects that can help them to build good employment prospects in the long run.