Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

A couple of well-developed countries are prompting to four and a half working days per week in order to achieve a better work-life balance, but some people argue that a longer working time is of great importance to the economic success of countries. From my personal angle alone, for some developing countries, I agree that it indeed can engage in their economic growth. First and foremost, long working hours mean that employers devote more time at work and are able to deal with heavier workloads within a longer working time, thereby boosting daily working efficiency and further marking great profits for the company. By contrast, people who work for shorten time, cannot finish tasks as much as those have an extended time would complete. For instance, if a company runs the moulding business, where massive production is required, long operation hours not only hold a key in its bushiness achievement, but also ensure its capacity. Besides, there are a number of industries sometimes have to operate in unusual working hours for maximizing their returns. For example, If some countries predominately rely on tourism, it is necessary for employers from retails and catering sectors to work outside office hours in order to provide service to customers and tourists, such as 7-9pm, when are their peak hours of a day. For another, workers from financial backgrounds, banker in particular, need to catch up with other countries’ stock markets, thereby performing in a relatively long duty hours. However, working 24/7 is never the case that contributes to a boost in the economy, prolonging the working time actually imposes some incidental negative effects on a country’s economy. In other words, potential growing health care cost because fatigue tends to harm the employees’ health, therefore leading to more consumption of medical resources. In conclusion, I am of opinion that lengthening working time is able to increase a company’s working efficiency and its turnover, yet, people who without adequate rest easily pose a threat in their health condition.