These days, many university courses are offered through the internet. Some people think that online teaching has more advantages than conventional classroom teaching or lectures, while others claim that there are significant disadvantages. Do the benefits of online teaching outweigh the disadvantages?

The internet is becoming ever more popular as a medium of instruction. Naturally, not all courses lend themselves to online teaching; hands-on subjects or those requiring physical involvement is inappropriate for this method. However, for those subjects that are suitable, this way of learning has numerous advantages. The strengths of online teaching are many and varied. Firstly, it is convenient, as it allows both teachers and students to work at their own pace, in their own time. The classroom never closes; there is round-the-clock access to materials, resources and bulletins, enabling students to fit their studies around work commitments. If they can manage a job while studying, they will be less financially encumbered once they graduate. Secondly, it is flexible. Sessions can be offered throughout the year instead of being restricted to just two semesters. Yet another advantage, for institutions, is that online teaching is much more economical, as there is much less financial outlay on buildings and amenities. Likewise, students in remote regions do not have the expense of travel and accommodation away from home. There are a few drawbacks, however. Firstly, online learning requires that students have access to relatively up-to-date and suitable computers, and in some places this is not the case. Consequently, there is a presupposition that both teachers and students can use the technology confidently and comfortably, and that it will not fail. Not all teachers understand how to deliver instruction over the internet in pedagogically sound ways, so they may need extra training in this field. Some students may find it difficult to establish study routines and relationships when there is no face-to-face interaction, and they definitely need maturity, self-discipline and organisational skills to balance their online tasks with the other priorities in their lives. In conclusion, although there are compelling arguments both for and against online teaching, any shortcomings are offset by the fact that distance education is low-cost and reaches a broader student population, offering convenience and flexibility. With good technological support and training for both staff and students, internet-based education can offer many benefits.