International travel is becoming cheaper, and more and more countries open their door to tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that global tourism has become inexpensive these days, and an increasing number of nations are freely allowing entry of tourists. While there are possible disadvantages associated with this trend, I think that the potential benefits of the growth in tourism outweigh its drawbacks. On the one hand, I accept that there are certain disadvantages related to the increase in tourism. First of all, the rise in global travel has resulted in an unprecedented negative effect on the environment of Earth. It has led both to an increase in consumption of precious natural resources and to an increase in pollution levels. Moreover, Due to the overcrowded nature of heritage sites, it has become harder to manage them properly. As a result, it would harm these valuable historical sites through acts such as littering or graffiti. On the other hand, I believe that some benefits are far stronger than the drawbacks mentioned above. First of all, international tourism has brought foreign currency to many Second and Third World countries by flourishing their economies. The growing tourism industry has provided millions of jobs worldwide. In addition, owing to tourism, people would easily get the opportunity to interact with others by immersing themselves in different cultures and religions. Therefore, their understanding grows which promotes a sense of cultural harmony. In conclusion, although there are some downsides to the increase in tourism, I ensure that overall it is a positive trend as it has benefitted both the economies and the culture of host nations.