Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is thought by some that the internet has reduced the gap between people, others say that people and their community are in isolation because of the web. In my opinion, although I agree that the internet has bridged the gap between individuals across the world, it has not done so to the communities. On the one hand, some believe that since its invention, the internet has brought individuals closer because it made communication a lot easier and faster. Before now, communication was by either post office mail or telegram which takes a lot of time. Currently, through various online social media, such as Facebook and WhatsApp, you can reach out to family and friends without any delay via text messages or video calls. Additionally, you can meet and make new friends via these media. On the other hand, others argue that the web has driven not only humans but also the society further apart due to its constant use. In other words, many become addicted to their gadgets, such as phones and laptops, where they either engage in a chat or online games, thus, ignoring their immediate environment and those around them. As a consequence, there is a reduced social interaction and activity, which in turn, leads to lack of understanding, segregation and loneliness. Finally, in my opinion, while the net has brought individuals close, it is yet to do so with the communities. For example, you can search for your childhood friend on Facebook and be able to reconnect, which would have been impossible without the web. Conversely, the society is driven far apart when we are busy online spending time with people unknown to us, without considering those within our reach. Hence, our society is becoming more isolated because of the net. In conclusion, though people may vary in their views, I consider that the net has bridged the gap between individuals, but has put the community in isolation due to less face-to-face communication.