Tobacco is a kind of drug. People have been free to use it. Some people think that it should be illegal to use it comparing with other drugs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that using cigarettes has evolved a major topic of concern in recent years. Personally, I agree with the view that the consumption of tobacco products should be prohibited. On the one hand, all forms of consuming tobacco must be outlawed because of its adverse impacts on the health of individuals and society as a whole. Firstly, those who frequently smoke might face an increased risk of having several potentially fatal diseases. Undoubtedly, studies have proven that different chemical substances in the cigarette, such as nicotine, are the main factor resulting in lung cancer, heart attack, stroke and many other respiratory illnesses, causing over six million deaths on an annual basis around the world. Secondly, using cigarettes also threaten the survival of non-smokers who are constantly exposed to environmental tobacco smoke like the workplace or home. For example, each year an estimated three thousand Americans die of lung cancer and over three hundred children suffer from respiratory tract infections because of inhalation of secondhand cigarette smoke from other smokers. On the other hand, I consider that the prohibition of smoking also brings certain significant benefits. The principal benefit is that it could not only help people have a more healthy life and but also help the government ease the pressure of medical care. Indeed, health care costs take up a huge chunk of the government’s budget so, when fewer people smoke, less money will be spent on smoking-related illnesses and there would be more funds for other patients. The other benefit is that smoking bans could make a contribution to reducing air pollutions. Supporters of this view contend that states and cities that adopted non-smoking policies in restaurants and public indoor spaces often have a better indoor air quality than those which still allow smoking public. In conclusion, I would argue that the government should take proactive measures to ban the use of cigarettes because they have negative effects on human health and society also reaps great benefits of this policy.