Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Beating children as a form of discipline is gaining popularity in the society. Corporal punishment is seen by some parents as the best way of enforcing discipline in their children. This essay will argue why smacking children is not an acceptable form of discipline. Some parents of the Christian faith, believed the proverbial saying in the holy book, that "spare the rod and spoil the ward". They believe that if they fail to spank their children when they do something wrong, the children will eventually become unruly. They justifiably do this because, children tend to grow up and believe their conduct are acceptable without some form of correction, when they are out of line. Parents also do this to instill fear in their children and also show that there are consequences for bad behaviour. For example, a parent may smack a child's on his hands for playing with sharp objects and he will always remember whenever he sees a sharp object. Despite the reasons given above on why parents smack their children, this is an unacceptable way of raising children. This abuse has left some children with permanent scars and in some cases even led to the death of the victims. For instance, parents who have temperament issues could in the course of smacking injure or even accidentally kill the child. A World Health Organisation's survey in 2018 showed that two million children are being maimed every year by their parents, either deliberately or by accident. There are other non-physical methods of reinforcing good behaviour in children, like going to sit in the naughty corner or by refusing to buy a child's favourite candy. In conclusion, this essay argued that smacking children is not a conduct that should be encouraged and is not the best method for reinforcing good behaviour.