Almost every successful company is using advertisements to increase their sales. What features make an advertisement effective? Is advertising good or bad for society?

In recent years, many companies have been using various types of advertising to achieve their commercial purposes, which could have both positive and negative consequences for society. This essay will explore my perspectives on advertising, analyzing the characteristics and influences of advertising. A useful advertisement can always persuade the target audience with several factors, including images of idols and emotional appeal. For example, famous sports brands like NIKE, ADIDAS, and PUMA, take advantage of the Olympic games to promote their sneakers, using athletes for endorsement and slogans to inspire young people to purchase related sports equipment. This is how advertisements utilize idols or role models to attract audiences and achieve their marketing goals. In addition, the scenes or stories of the advertising can also spark audiences’ emotions to increase sales. Samples like car advertising which shows an image of a happy family emphasizing comfort, love and strong bonds can stay with the audience. People who intend to purchase a car with comfort and safety could be potential customers and this is the reason why car manufacturers increase their sales. In fact, advertising brings both advantages and disadvantages to society. On the one hand, to broadcast specific rules or notifications, advertising is the most efficient way to inform people about topics such as public health and social responsibility. On the other hand, advertising can also have negative effects on the public. Especially for billboards, some associations take advantage of billboards to promote their products which causes the result of environmental harm. For instance, Some billboards are placed in a high place which potentially collapses or blocks the driver's vision, leading to safety issues. Some content involves metaphors of sex or proneness, which may not be suitable for children. These are the negative effects of advertising. In summary, advertising is like a double-edged sword, if it is used for public benefit, it would be beneficial. Otherwise, associations using it in inappropriate ways could be detrimental to society. Associations should take factors like ethics or appropriation to ensure their marketing strategies are beneficial.