Many people believe that social networking sites (Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree.

It is known that social networks have increasingly gained popularity among users specially for the rise of fake news and influence. Hence, governments are spot-lightning such companies in order to set up regulations that create a digital-protective shield for society and individuals. This essay will discuss why Facebook, among others, are struggling to evidence their positive impact worldwide. Firstly, the provided freedom that digital users have in a fully-connected world must be restricted. For instance, posting untrue information, harm other users' ideas or create lies through viral chains could be considered dangerous even for any country's national security. Moreover, when this type of behaviour is found deep in politicians, the effect would even greater. Secondly, in 2018, while Marck Zuckemberg, Facebook CEO, was stating that they do not have any guilt on privacy matters, millions and millions of data were leaking to Cambridge Analytica, a company that used this information against the UK government to win Brexit referendum. It is clear that platforms as Facebook could do more damage than good to people. Overall, taking control somehow of social networks might be considered as a way of censorship and against free speech. However, actions must be taken in order to reduce aggressive users' performance while companies like Facebook must exceed efforts to cooperate with leaders around the globe and guarantee a more secure and safe social network.