more and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that raising the price of fast foods will solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of people with obesity conditions are increasing over the period. It is argued that making the price of junk food higher is a good solution for this case. I agree with this statement, and this essay will describe how the high price of cigarettes can affect the consumption of this item, and secondly, how higher prices could lower the number of consumption. To begin with, higher excise on cigarettes has proven to be successful at curbing the harm caused by these substances. These policies that running by many countries have made the tobacco become an expensive thing that not worth the money to be spent for. Therefore, many people prefer to stop or minimize the frequency of smoking habits, and the number of people with respiratory problems are significantly decreased. For example, many developed countries such as Australia have the regulation that makes the price of tobacco is dramatically expensive compare with Indonesia. Hence, in 2017, the number of people struggling with lung cancer dropped in Australia, while it is rising gradually in Indonesia. Furthermore, the rising of the price is in line with the declining of people consuming fast food. People tend to buy junk food because it is cheap and simple. By increasing the price, junk food will soon become a luxury item and it would be consumed occasionally, and people may search for other alternatives because the price that fast food is not equal to the value it brings. For example, if the price of fast food is higher than fried rise and other healthier foods, people will prefer to choose the options because it more cheap and possibility has more portion than fast food. In conclusion, junk food prices should be increased because of the good precedent set by cigarettes and the fact that the increased cost will reduce the amount of fast food consumed by the society, and the results, might be reduce the percentage of overweight issues.