Libraries are a waste of money, therefore, computers should be used to replace them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A library consists of a large number of books and considered a place which comprises much information. However, with recent technological advancements, some people argue that funding for libraries should be reduced, and introducing computers to public usage is the best option. I think introducing computers and tablets are a good option. Undoubtedly, society has the opportunity of gathering information using books and magazines in libraries. Furthermore, it is observed that the regular addition of new editions as well as new publications. As a result of that, people have the liberty of reading the newest articles. Another plus point about libraries is that they bring communities together who have common interests. For example, in a library, there are sections for each category, and the readers who have a common interest can be seen assisting each other with the subject matter. Nevertheless, computers could easily replace the libraries as in a single machine has the ability to electronically store all the books in a library making a computer a virtual library. Moreover, the operating cost of a library is huge as whenever there are new publications or new editions, the hard copies should be added and lots of space is required; whereas in computers it is just a matter of adding another one file and the cost of computers are drastically reduced. Another plus point is that the accessibility to information is faster in computers as its a matter of searching keywords. Applications such as the Kindle and Google Books provide soft copies of books at a minimal cost and virtually provides the same experience as reading a paper book with the Kindle reader. In conclusion, the paper book libraries are hard to maintain and should be replaced with modern technology such as computers and tablets. Such an initiative will assist the readers in finding the latest information faster and at a minimal cost.