Individuals should not be allowed to carry guns as it increases crime and violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree

When it comes to gun ownership, governments around the world adopt controversial positions. To some extent, I agree that there are undeniable benefits of owning firearms, but I would also argue that its drawbacks outweigh the benefits, and therefore, guns should be banned. There are various reasons why many people support gun ownership. Firstly, there are certain circumstances where it is nearly impossible for citizens to effectively defend themselves against attackers who are stronger and bigger than them. Guns, therefore, play a significant role in protecting the owner by scaring criminals off. This measurement could eventually act as a form of crime deterrent. Secondly, if access to guns is blocked, people’s right to enjoy activities such as hunting and gun collecting would be violated. In many states in the USA, firearm possession is currently allowed due to above reasons. On the other hand, I believe that the gun deaths epidemic could be halted if governments enact legislation to forbid civilian-owned guns. Although firearm is prominent for its efficacy in self-defence, it is also notoriously known as a tool that has been used in massacres recently. In the USA alone, a whopping 334 mass shootings have occurred in 2019, causing hundreds of deaths and thousands of injuries. Compared to Japan’s six gunshots in one year, this number seems to be extremely alarming. Besides, there is a risk of accidents involves guns, which could lead to thousands of deaths annually if gun owners are not adequately trained. In conclusion, I can understand why many individuals advocate the civil use of guns. Still, it seems to me that it is better to prohibit gun ownership as it would decrease crime and violence in society.