Some feel that tourism endangers culture while others feel it is beneficial. DIscuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the number of tourists is increasing. Some people feel that tourism will affect on local country’s culture in a negative way, while others think it will bring positive effects. This essay will talk about both perspectives of the argument and my personal opinion about the situation. On the one hand, travellers are forcing locals to forget their own language by learning a new one. Since a tourist doesn’t speak the country’s language, the local citizens have to be able to speak foreign languages to treat visitors. By doing that, natives may lose their own language someday. For instance, I am originally from Japan but I live in Melbourne, Australia, one time I was in Japan, a person from another country pointed to items in the street and the seller was imitating him. That day I realised how tourism was affecting my culture. On the other hand,a modern tourist helps advertise local businesses such as food, hotels and restaurants. Visitors will take pictures and upload them to SNS (social network service) where people all over the world have a chance to see them. For example, before I came to Australia, I did lots of research to know the country and it helped me a lot to understand their cultures. To sum up, visitors could have negative effects on a local language, but also would bring positive effects in promoting local culture to the world. Thus, I think that having a globetrotter in our country has more advantages than drawbacks.