There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than international music heard everywhere nowadays?

A wide variety of musical sounds can indeed be found around the world. Music plays a more vital role in our life than just being a source of entertainment, and I would believe that folk music is more important than modern music. To embark on, there are multiple reasons why music is not only a source of amusement, but also an essential part of life. To begin with, it is scientifically proven that music stimulates parts of the brain and boosts both attention and memory. Particularly, studies have demonstrated that music enhances the memory of Alzheimer's and dementia patients. Besides, music is a powerful therapy that will be not only helpful in uplifting our mood but also have unique healing powers. As an example, if we feel lazy and motivated, maybe a playlist of up-tempo, energetic songs would be a nice way to change our emotions. In my opinion, traditional music should be valued over the international music that has become so popular. In view of international pop music, as it is often catchy and fun, it gains the popularity of the audiences, but it is just a commercial product that is marketed and sold by business people. The traditional one, on the contrary, expresses the culture, meaning, and history of a country that helps us remember and retain our national and cultural identity. The music has strong emotional ties that bring people together, as certain pieces are often played during national holidays or other events. Thus, traditional music, without any doubt, should be a priority to preserve due to its benefits. In conclusion, music has its value and is of vital importance in our life, and I believe that folk music should be given more significant than international pop music.