Q: Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more people nowadays are sharing their personal information with technology companies to gain access to software applications. This essay will argue that despite there being the dangers of personal data being sold to other companies, the benefits of access to updated technology far outweigh the drawbacks. Most of the software companies request the user to share their personal data of their mobile phones and laptops which is later sold to advertising companies. These third party applications then send notifications and pop-ups whenever the user uses internet services. The pop-up advertisements are generally related to the most searched or typed topics of interest by the user. For example, a recent survey conducted by the Cyber Security Department concluded that 89% of the advertisements that pop-up on the internet are the once searched on Google. However, sharing data over internet to these companies is at the discretion of the user and they must be conscious of their own actions. Gaining access to software helps in acquiring new and updated versions of these applications. That is to say that this is the easiest way of keeping yourself up-to-date with the latest technology which makes life easier. For instance, Google Pay is an application that requires users to share their Bank details. This mobile application allows a user to pay electricity bills, mobile bills, and other purchases made over the internet instead of personally making payments at the concerned offices, all through the bank maintained by the user at any time of the day. This benefit means that the person has enough time to carry out other important works without worrying about the payments. In conclusion, gaining access to new applications to make life easier in return of personal information to companies far outweighs the drawback of data being sold to advert companies.