In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

Due to the renovations to medical studies, the average lifespan in advanced economies has increased substantially over the past few years. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to curb these potential problems. As people live longer and the population of industrialized nations grows older, there can be several issues that citizens and communities must face. Firstly, a considerable proportion of the people in many countries such as France, Japan or Germany has already lived up to the age of 60 or more. This problem leads to the fact that the majority of adults are now reaching the age of retirement, and therefore, render their countries’ economies vulnerable to the lack of workforce. As a result, these nations already have to import a significant amount of labourers from Africa or Asia countries in order to meet the demand of manpower in their countries. Furthermore, an overwhelming proportion of pension age could be a tremendous burden on the young as they have to spend more time to nurse their senior family members, which leaves them less time for work, self-improvement, and recreation. Despite having various challenges, I believe there are effective remedies that could be taken into action. First of all, the authorities should raise the retirement age in order to make up for the deficiency of personnel in their countries. For instance, a number of EU member states such as Spain, Germany, and France are about to extend the retirement age from 65 to 67 in 2020. Simultaneously, the government should invest more money to enhance the quality of nursing homes and health care services for the elder in order to lighten the burden on younger residents’ shoulders. Finally, effective policies and knowledge that help increase fertility rates, such as how to maintain the nutritional intake a person should have, should be propagandized to encourage future generations. In conclusion, the problems caused by increasing average lifespan expectancy could be dealing with as long as the authorities taken these issues into concern and perform immediate measurements.