Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Socialism and being a good member of the society is a crucial value every citizen should holds. However, there is always a debate going on regarding who will teach these values to children,whether its parents or teachers.In my opinion, eventhough educational institutions can taught them about the social skills, it is the parents who should make sure that their children are socially responsible. On one hand, schools have a fixed curriculum which is purely based on the academic subjects like mathematics, science and information tehcnology.They always strive to improve the performance of students in academic skills to enhance their intellectual development. Eventhough some governments are conducting programs like national service scheme, and community works to improve the social skills of students, around 20% of the schools are participating,as they are more interested in other sports and arts festivals to bring up the artistic skills of pupils. Hence children are getting less chances to know more about society from schools. On the other hand, home is the primary institute for children from where they are learning soft and social skills like caring, sharing and showing empathy to others. Parents are the role models and their activities are having great influence in children. Respect each other and giving space for others is the first thing children learn from the behaviour of elder members in the family. Also when parents are participating in the charity activities and voluntary works,it would automatically motivate their children to do so. For instance, a recent survey in India shown that around 80% of students like to do community works with parents. To conclude, parents play a vital role in teaching social skills and providing awareness to become a good social being for their offspring than the educational institutes.