Some people think that politicians have the greatest influence on the world, while others believe that scientists are more influential.

It is irrefutable that both scientists and politicians have made great contributions to the societies worldwide and it would be difficult to say whose influence is greater. In the following paragraphs, I would highlight the role of both, politicians and scientists in our lives. Politicians are elected by citizens to work for the betterment of the masses by enforcing regulations to maintain social harmony and law and order in the country. They represent the common man and do their best so that no one is devoid of their fundamental rights. They also represent their countries in matters where global co-operation is needed. They have the power to change the standing of their nation in the whole world. For example, the economic policies of our Prime Minister, Manmohan Singh have brought India way up in the eyes of the whole world. On the other hand the contribution of scientists cannot be under estimated. They have made great progress in the field of medicine. Today, there is a cure for many fatal diseases such as cancers. Scientists all over the world are toiling whole-heartedly to find a cure for problems such as AIDS. It is the contribution of scientists that we have electricity and the automobile. The contribution of scientists in the field of communication has shrunk the whole planet Earth into a global village. The satellite TV and the internet have brought the world into the common man’s bedroom. Because of scientists contribution, education has reached the remotest corners of the world, thereby reducing the gap between the rich and the poor. Scientists are working on fighting global warming. They are working on space tourism and exploring other planets for evidence of life. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that no doubt, politicians are very important for people but the contribution of scientists is much more. They have converted yesterday’s fiction into today’s reality.