Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others believe individuals can also do some things to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about how to tackle environmental problems. While some people disagree with the idea of individuals helping to solve environmental problems, I believe that resolving environmental issues should be the responsibility not only of governments and organizations, but also of individuals. Some global issues such as global warming, air and water pollution and the loss of biodiversity definitely require government intervention. These issues are so enormous that there is simply no way to adequately address these problems without strong commitments from the governments of different countries. The Kyoto protocol, which was adopted in 1997 with the participation of 84 different countries to put a restriction on greenhouse-gas emissions, is an excellent example of how important international cooperation is in dealing with environmental issues. Nowadays, this protocol continues to have a world-wide effect on protecting nature. On the other hand, I believe that there are many actions an individual can take to help reduce environmental problems. Firstly, instead of driving a car, a person can take the public transport, ride his bicycle, or walk to help reduce carbon emissions, which would reduce air pollution and global warming. Secondly, turning lights off before leaving a room can save a lot of energy produced by burning fossil fuels like coal and oil. For instance, Earth Hour is such a great global event that millions of people all over the world join in annually with the hope that their action of turning lights off for one hour can make a great impact on the planet. Finally, sorting out and recycling paper can decrease the rate of deforestation, protecting forests—the lungs of Mother Earth. In conclusion, there are good reasons why major environmental problems should mainly rely on governmental and international efforts, but in my opinion the combination of individual and governmental actions would make a greater impact on the environment.