Nowadays, stress-related illnesses are becoming increasingly common. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is stated that diseases which are related to stress are becoming more and more popular at the present time. There are two main factors, namely modern city life and working habits that contribute to this. The aim of this essay is to delve into these factors and offer some solutions. Firstly, the complexity of urban life is the main reason that causes stress which leads to several illnesses. For instance, noises from cars, factories and people create mental damage in our brains, causing long-term headaches. Not only does the urban lifestyle cause mental stress, but also it affects us physically. In fact, air pollution in cities has negative effects on our breathing which weakens our respiratory system. To tackle this problem, urban planning can be reviewed. In other words, cities can be redesigned with a focus on creating green spaces, recreational facilities and environments that promote physical activity and relaxation. Another factor that contributes to stress and the diseases that accompany them is our working habits. Needless to say, people work long hours, many times without giving sufficient breaks, to meet their needs. Additionally, today workplaces have sedentary duties. These situations impact our resilience adversely, and lessen our general well-being. A way forward for the government can be to introduce and enforce new workplace policies that promote a healthy work-life balance. For example, working hours can be flexible or remote work can be implemented in job places. If it were to happen, people would not spend much time commuting and would be more likely to relax adequately. In conclusion, although the complexity of urban life and our working habits have distressed people both mentally and physically, appropriate urban planning and changing working practices can reduce the prevalence of stress -related illnesses among people.