In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is believed in some places that young people should take a break for a year after high school to work or travel. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this approach. On the one hand, there are numerous upsides for taking a year off before starting university education. Firstly, the work experience gained by young people is very beneficial. It can help them get admission into the highly ranked universities as well as getting a job later in their career. For instance, most of the companies and the universities give higher priority to the applicants having work experience. Secondly, students can save money for their tertiary education by working for some time. Since they have enough savings before resuming education, students can focus on their studies without worrying about finances. Also, travelling can help students learn different cultures and people behaviours, which can be beneficial for students majoring in humanities courses such as management and Psychology. On the other hand, there are various downsides of taking a long break in education. Firstly, the students might lose focus on their studies when they start working. They might continue their job even after starting classes, so they will not put much effort and time in their courses. This can result in poor grades and failure to pass some courses. Furthermore, some students might decide to skip higher education since they are already earning money. As a result, they will keep working at low paying jobs, and this will negatively affect their careers. For example, many students in London start working in restaurants after college and never resume their education. Moreover, travelling is expensive and can put young people into financial troubles if they decide to go for exploring world instead of saving for their tuition fees. In conclusion, taking some time off before university has both positives and negatives for young people. Students should decide based on their interests and financial circumstances.