Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define and what factors contribute to achieving happiness?

Happiness is crucial for having a meaningful life. As it is not a universal term, it can be fairly challenging for it to be defined, because people do not usually think about what brings them joy as they experience it, but rather after it is over. Although the path towards it could heavily depend on the individual, I think healthy relationships and progress towards a personal goal could really contribute to achieving this feeling. To begin with, happiness is a relative and temporal notion. People can have different backgrounds, goals and thinking. Therefore, one sole definition of this feeling might not be correct. When it comes to personal thoughts, it is still difficult to describe, though, because on the whole people do not consider what makes them happy and what that feels like until this emotion is gone. Only when they deliberately think about it, will happiness possibly become more than just an association with different events in their mind, which could be really hard to put into words. Two major steps towards it could be being part of healthy relationships and making progress on an individual goal. Firstly, having people to turn to and rely on can alleviate stress and sadness. But most importantly, even if suddenly peoples' whole lives turn around, the relationships they have built can last forever and help them find happiness again. Secondly, working on a goal or a dream and observing progress one makes could give people the confidence to think that their efforts and struggles actually have meaning and as a result - make them fulfilled. To summarise, happiness may be difficult to define because this word holds a different meaning for many people and the feeling is usually not considered until it is already gone. People need to find their own way to achieve it, but trying to forge quality social connections and seeking progress regarding their personal goals could really contribute to this task.