Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Implementing proper mode of Public transportation is main challenge for any government. While some people think that government should invest in rails, others are of the opinion that government should spend more money on roads. As per my point of view, it is more advantageous to improve railways than road. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in following paragraphs. To begin with, investing in railways is a good idea as the services are faster, cheaper and convenient so it is afforded by maximum people. It is the best mode of transportation to commute around the city, as it does not face any traffic congestion like the road user experience. Trains are faster than any vehicle on the road and if this service is made better, then more people will travel by train as it will take less time to reach the destination. Railways are the best mode of transportation for both commuting inside the city as well as for travelling to other cities. For instance, travelling from Gujarat to Delhi by road use to take around 20 hours, but as the government as introduced the bullet train now it only takes 3 hours to reach Delhi. Therefore, it saves a lot of time in travelling and people can be more productive during those hours. In addition to this, the cost for upgrading the rails is much less compared to the roads. Moreover, using trains also proves to be beneficial for our environment. As a train carry hundreds of people around the city, the number of people travelling with vehicles reduces which in turn reduces the carbon dioxide emitted. This is the main advantage for the nation as it improves the carbon level and helps to protect nature. As per a recent research, opening the underground metro in Delhi as resulted in 40% less production of carbon dioxide as compared to data from before metro. To conclude, the government should properly plan for the future and as railways offer more convenience than road transportation does, it deserves more budget.