An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Since the beginning of the twenty first century, as e-learning has gotten momentum rapidly, some private schools encourage their students to use electronic gadgets, such as tablets and laptops, which are provided by schools, for learning purposes. An increasing use of electronic media has replaced the traditional tools of learning, such as, paper based books, tests and paper assignments. However, this new culture has its own pros and cons, which are illustrated in trailed paragraphs. Looking at the positive side, firstly, as it reduces the use of papers, it is considered as an eco-friendly approach. The less paper is used, the less trees are cut down. Secondly, using computers from a very early stage of life, can certainly improve several computer skills, such as typing speed, which can be beneficial for them to compete in this digital world. Thirdly, an electronic device can store plenty of data. So that, the pupils save their data and use them according to their requirements. In spite of this, filtering and searching information from saved data can be easier by using a variety of applications in laptops or computers. Looking at the negative side, by increasing the use of electronic media in the schools, the students can be heavily dependent on gadgets. They have to rely on the electricity to charge the devices quite frequently. Further, as devices are there to store all types of data, the students are likely to lose their memory power. Moreover, there may be a chance to crash the applications or softwares, used by the computers, which may lose their stored data. To conclude, despite several demerits, e-learning has a plenty of merits in the overall development of the pupils, as it assists them in all kinds of school works.