The environmental problems facing today's world are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. Government and large companies should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the damage to our environment is getting more serious and some people argue that individuals can barely contribute to slow down the exacerbation. In addition, they believe that the major responsibility to do so is on governments and industries. I generally agree with this statement although there is something each person can do to improve the situation. Firstly, governments and major companies should take the initiative to reduce the damage to the planet in my opinion because they produce the greatest amount of emissions such as greenhouse gases and garbage. For instance, over half of the release of carbon dioxide was accounted for by factories and electricity production in Japan last year, which means that a reduction in this gas, on the whole, cannot be achieved without the cooperation of those industries. In addition, a dramatic reduction in their waste would lead to a large-scale movement of being eco-friendly. However, I strongly believe that individuals should be aware of these issues, otherwise it is difficult to resolve them. In more detail, we should actively opt for sustainable items when shopping. The reason is that a rise in the awareness of the citizens would create pressure for large enterprises to care about the environment. In many cases, manufacturing eco-friendly products is costly due to the need to introduce new technologies and facilities, and therefore it is essential to show that the customers' needs are sustainable items in order to let them bear the expense. In conclusion, despite it is inevitable that major cooperations and nations are mostly responsible for reducing the harm to our globe, it is also important for each member to be aware of the problems and act, such as choosing goods gentle to the globe.