some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some people would argue that the main reason for learning another country's language is because they want to visit the country, while others think that they have other motives to learn it. This essay agrees with the former statement and will discuss how learning a foreign language is only beneficial if we have an intention to visit the region where it is used and, otherwise, it is not needed. On the one hand, learning the language of a country which people plan to visit can help them during their stay in the country. The vast majority of people of a country do not speak other than their official language, therefore, understanding it to a certain degree can help traveller in their daily lives. If people can ask the local people for direction and time, it will avoid them getting lost in the visited nations. For example, I learned some French words before my visit to France and it had helped me to navigate from a hotel to the Eiffel tower. In my opinion, learning how to speak to locals before visiting a state can safe visitors from getting lost. On the other hand, learning the language of a nation that a person does not plan to visit is a waste of time. When a person does not have a motive in studying a language, the person will not grasp the skill. This is because learning a language needs immersion so that the learner is forced to hear and speak in it. For example, I took a German course in university just for accompanying a friend and, as a result, I have never been able to understand the language. In my opinion, learning a foreign language without motivation to visit a country where the locals speak the language does not provide benefits to the learner. In conclusion, studying a foreign language is only beneficial when people have the intention to visit a country where it is spoken. Without any intention to have an opportunity to speak to the locals, learning a foreign language is useless.