Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe marketing is a crucial strategy for selling products, while others feel that commercials have become not so effective. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and explains why I believe advertising is still important to business. A few think it is important to advertise products for good sales results. The first reason is that nowadays, people often follow at least a couple of influencers on social media. As a result, their followers will be more likely to purchase the item they are recommending, since they trust their opinion. For instance, my sister is keen on buying new skincare creams just because she has seen a celebrity talking about them on Instagram. Another reason, it can trigger the fear of missing out. According to recent psychological studies on humans, we are often scared of being left out because this can possibly threaten our well-being, whether physically or socially. However, others feel that advertising is not as effective as it used to be. This might be due to too much unrelevant content in the media. This is because anyone can pay a fee to have their business advertised on the internet. As a consequence, one's product can be lost in the middle of social media's ads frenzy and not perform as expected. Moreover, there are usually too many competitor companies. Therefore, it has become more challenging to stand out to possible clients since they might be already interested in a similar item from a cheaper brand. In conclusion, I believe both sides of the argument have merits. However, overall, I think that the advantages of being advertised by social media influencers and the fear of missing out phenomenon outweigh the downsides of the crowded advertising vehicles and having too many similar brands in the market. Furthermore, in my opinion, business competition problems can be minimized by having a high-quality innovative product and excellent customer service.