In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion on this?

The safety of the youth is argued by many to be pivotal to the societies’ development and well-being. Adolescents, in some regions of the United States, are placed under a curfew, forbidding them from being outdoors without the supervision of a fully-grown person during a late-night hour. From my vantage point, having this time limit can be highly beneficial for both teens and the society. On the one hand, the youth, themselves, will benefit greatly from this ban. Firstly, when they are out of the house while they are being monitored by an adult, they are less likely to be approached, abused, robbed, or kidnapped by criminals, sexual predators or paedophiles. For example, drug mafia, who generally target new customers under the cover of darkness, will not stand any chance to prey on adolescents wandering the streets alone, or in company with their peers. Teenagers, therefore, won’t be enticed into drug abuse, and alcohol consumption. As they normally tend to use them out of curiosity, which can plunge them into a never-ending addiction. In addition, if children, who are in their teens, leave the house at certain times in their parents’ company, hardly will they place the society in vulnerable circumstances. It is believed by some that if such prohibitions had been imposed earlier, societies wouldn’t be thrown into the current chaos and confusion, from which it is suffering. For instance, some statistics show that teenagers often get drunk and misbehave in public only when they are not accompanied by someone from their family. A small unintentional manoeuvre by a drunk youngster at night can be mistaken as a serious violent threat by the public or the authorities. Consequently, this misconduct can lead to adverse consequences such as prison, injury, or at worst, death. In conclusion, Since crime rates have been increasing in many localities in recent years, it is vitally important not to safeguard the teenagers from harm of any kind, but to set such restrictions as curfew for people, especially the youngsters and young adults. The presence of an adult family member can prevent these types of situations and protect the adolescents from falling victim to such unlawful activities.