Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and violent crimes increases. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been controversy over the issue of capital punishment, where some people may think capital punishment remains necessary to maintain low rates of violence and crime of society, but others do not. Regarding this problem, I completely agree with preserving the death penalty in order to offer citizens’ a safe and secure living environment as I will discuss further in the following essay. To start with, proponents of this issue agree maintaining capital punishment is crucial to preventing criminals from committing offences repeatedly and to help prevent people from living in fear of violent crime. There is growing evidence that the death penalty is essential to controlling violent behaviour and showing that crime is not tolerated. The evidence for this rationale is based on examples from several non- death - penalty countries which describes some people suffering attacks from strangers, such as shooting or stabbing, leading to death Therefore, in such cases, I deem that the death penalty should be maintained in order to protect people as well as stem public panic. Nevertheless, some critics try to abolish capital punishment, they may think crime rates are not reduced by the death penalty and that it does not deter the root causes of violent crime. Opponents are convinced that it is a form of revenge, which delivers a violent message and encourages people to solve this problem with violence. I advocate the death penalty is necessary to prevent the crimes from happening again and to decrease the threat to others, because abolishing the death penalty does not do enough to address violent crime deterrence and public panic. To sum up, capital punishment is a debatable problem with strong views on both sides. Taking prompt action can reduce crime and panic.