Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The festivals are very important because they remind mankind about the values of the religion and the traditions. Moreover, humans have a perception that nowadays the importance of festivals is neglected and indeed it has just become an occasion of self-celebration. I totally disagree with this viewpoint because even with heavy occupied lifestyle people allot their festive time to celebrate with family and relatives. The traditional festivals have a meaning for celebrating them in the particular seasons. The fiesta has its own importance in each religion and enlightens the worth of celebrating them. The purpose of festivities is taught to children from a young age at schools and by parents, so that they could follow the culture throughout their lifetime and pass on the information to budding generations. For example, the objective for Christmas merrymaking around the world on 25th December, is because they strongly believe that Jesus was born on this day and the date is remembered by everybody since we knew its prominence. In addition to this, the people in today’s busiest schedule have allocated their time for celebrating the festivals with their families in their hometowns. Indeed, they are planning such occasions well in advance like viewing the dates of festivals in the calendar and booking the tickets beforehand. However, during festive holidays we can find the railway stations and bus stands crowded and that view is like a carnival. For instance, every year for Pongal, I will make an advance booking of the tickets to my hometown so that I can enjoy the festival with my cousins and relatives. To conclude, even in the fast-paced modern world, people are celebrating religious festivals with full enthusiasm and joyfulness by valuing the culture and the tradition.