Eating of sugar is harmful to the body. Some people feel that the government should be responsible for regulating the consumption of sugar. Give ur opinion about it.

Sugar intake is harmful to the human body. Some are of the view that it is the duty of the Government to regulate the consumption of sugar. While others believe that there should be self-control among people. This essay believes that people should take their health to live a healthy life. To start with, too much intake of sugar can be detrimental to one's health the more reason why people should see it as their major role. In other words, regular intake of sugar can increase the risk of some health-related diseases such as heart problems, diabetes and unnecessary weight gain to mention a few. A study by the Ministry of health in the UK of over 50,000 people found that those who consumed 17-20% calories from added sugar had a 38% greater risk of dying from heart diseases compared to those consuming only 5% calories from added sugar. Therefore, it can be deduced that it is self-effort that can be done by people rather than the Government. Another point to consider is that taking more sweetening like contain sugar can make people develop covetousness. This means that they will be greedy and can go at any length to consume it even if they don't have money to buy it. Such an attitude might lead people to involve in shady habits such as stealing and lying. This can be exemplified in the altitude of little nephew Tunde that is used to be given chocolate to school by his parent, however, due to the economic situation he can't afford to give him chocolate to school and this makes him steal from his classmates. To conclude, regulating sugar intake should not be the duty of the state, it is an individual effort of the people to take control of what they eat in order to stay healthy.