Everybody should be allowed admission to university study programs regardless of their level of academic ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Admissions to university study programs are considered to be a very important facet for a student in their education. There is an idea put forth that everyone should be accepted for university study programs irrespective of their academic ability. As a student, I would disagree with this statement as it hinders the sustenance of both the student, the peers, and the university. Frankly speaking, it is not sustainable for the university to accept, process and teach all applicants due to the limited resources available. Some coveted universities may be sought after the most and there is also the case of applications converging for a particular college. For the students, the university of higher education is highly encouraging the grade-points obtained in lower grades and undergraduate courses. When everyone is allowed to take part in the university study programs of their choice, it would disrupt this flow, which might lead to poor involvement in the lower grades. Also, the amount of competition for certain institutions like the Ivy League universities ensures that only a very select few, in a creamy layer, are able to get admission. The level of complexity and the aggressive nature of the courses demand such people alone and if students with the limited academic ability are introduced into such an environment, it might become adversarial for the students taking up the course as well as the institution offering the course. For example, institutions like the IIT (Indian Institute of Technology) are highly coveted and there is a huge competition among Indian students for getting into an IIT. Even then, most of the IIT students complain of pressure, stress, and depression due to the demanding coursework. In conclusion, I would say that academic excellence is very important and should be one of the key factors in determining admission into the program. On the other hand, it should not be the sole consideration and the passion and interest of the student towards the course must also be taken into consideration for an efficient study program.