Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring student’s performance and should be replaced by continuous assessments. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

According to some, exams are an unsuitable way of measuring student's abilities and they should be replaced by continuous assessments. In my opinion, I agree with the statement because exams lead to a negative influence on students ' mental health and assessments are more effective than exams. Firstly, the impact of exams on students ' mental health. In other words, nobody denies that students feel stress when exams season is soon for them and many of them try to hurt themselves. For example, the number of students who suicide in China has increased for a few years, this is mainly because of the difficult exams which are provided to them. Hence, exams are an inappropriate way of measuring student's ability because of the stress they feel before the exam and that would impact the students to show their real ability in the exam. Another point is that assessments are more effective than exams. That is to say, if students were asked to do homework frequently, they would be more hardworking in their studies. However, when it comes to exams, students have an exam season which takes more than a month between each exam season. For instance, for me when I was at school, I used to take my exams every month. Therefore, assessments make hard-working students, but exams make lazy students because they do not have to study frequently, they could just study during exam season. To sum up, I believe that exams are an unsuitable way of measuring students ' performance and they should be replaced by continuous assessments, this is because of the impact of exams on students ' mental health and homework is more effective than exam seasons. If exams were to be banded, students would be happy.