Plastic Shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. some people think they should be banned do you agree or disagree?

Plastic waste pollution has been an issue that we are trying to tackle since a decade now, yet we haven't reached a conclusive solution for the same. In my view the plastic shopping bags have done much more harm than help, considering today's situations around the globe. Plastic bags are difficult to recycle and degrade, making it a prime catalyst in land and sea pollution. We have seen so many examples where animals, not only on land, but also in the sea have been trapped, adversely affected and died, due to our plastic waste. Recent studies have shown that the effects of plastic pollution on the environment, in many cases will take years to reverse. Government authorities have taken various precautions in the past to reduce the effect, but the percentage by which it helps is way below the need. Although of its various cons, plastic bags make our day to day life very convenient and a proper self-awareness among individuals can alleviate the harm to a good extent. Recently a city India adopted a policy through which plastic bags are issued only in specific cases and generalized use of the same was completely discontinued, forcing the people to use bags made up of the materials for their day to day use. Such small changes, if implemented and adopted by the people can actually help us reduce the pollution made from plastic bags. In conclusion, I would like to say, the moment of small changes has passed and banning plastic considering the current plastic pollution level would be help us start a cycle, where we would look for alternatives for daily needs.