Both the poor and the rich find the accessibility into univerisity difficult.Do you agree or disagree.

People, regardless their wealth, find it difficult to enter a university. I agree with this statement. This essay will first discuss how the competition to study at universities is stiff, and then talk about how studying at university is very costly. All from different prosperity levels struggle to pass universities' selection criteria due to the high demand for high-level education. This is because the number of reputable universities in one area is low compared to the number of students who graduated from schools in the same area. As a result, they need to compete against their colleagues to get seats in their favourite universities. They must have done extremely hard works at school so their marks are higher than other candidates to be admitted at universities. For example, around 1700 students graduated from schools in Jakarta in each year, but only 60% among them can continue their study at higher education. I agree that entering universities are hard. The situation is even more severe for the poor people because the tuition fee of tertiary education is too expensive. Even though they have had sufficient marks to be accepted at a university, they often still struggle to pay course fees themselves. If there is no one willing to sponsor them by taking the fees, there will be no admission can be made by university administrators. For example, in 2006, among 1200 students in Jakarta who academically accepted in universities, around 250 of them did not continue because of financial problem. I agree that poorer people may struggle more. In conclusion, the competition to get admitted in third -level education is fierce for people regardless of their wealth. However, the poor find it more severe because their challenge is not only because of marks, but also the financial requirement of tertiary educations.