Some parents think television programmes are good for a child’s development. Some parents disagree. What is your opinion?

It is argued that television programs are beneficial to the development of children, while some others do not agree with this statement. I personally believe that television programs play both positive and negative roles in the growth of young folks. On the one hand, there are two main reasons why some parents find that TV programmes are good for their offspring's growth. Firstly, children can learn knowledge from television by watching educational TV programs faster than other media such as books and radio. Delivering information via Video and audio is much more vivid and comprehensive for young people to absorb knowledge. Secondly, youngsters can gain non-curriculum knowledge and widen their horizons by watching TV programmes, as a result, it will be further beneficial to their future careers. For example, young people can get to know Indian culture by watching a documentary about India, therefore, they might easily make friends with Indian colleagues in their future workplaces since they know Indian culture. On the other hand, TV programs also have negative influences on the development of young people since they can develop some bad habits by watching TV shows, and become addicted to TV programs. Generally, young people are not able to filter negative news and fake information from TV shows, and they will learn some bad habits such as smoking and drinking when they find their idols on TV have these behaviours. Similarly, children can become addicted to TV programs as TV shows are more interesting and relaxing than reading books and doing sports. Furthermore, young people will become less interested in their academic study and physical exercises. In conclusion, TV programs have positive impacts on the progress of children as children can accept knowledge faster and gain additional knowledge, however, the negative sides of TV shows cannot be ignored.