Question: some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discus both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, sporting activities in schools have become increasingly popular. While some individuals are of the opinion that the inclusion of physical activities in the academic life of children is crucial, others contend that it is not mandatory. This discourse will delve into these two standpoints, and subsequently, explore my own perspective accordingly. Of course the introduction of physical recreational activities is paramount, there is no refutation of this fact. Their motivation might be that being active improves both physical and mental development of these teenagers. Activities such as: volley, football, basket and hockey aid muscular and skeletal modifications, thereby enhancing growth and psychological progress. To illustrate, according to a research carried out by the American Association of Paediatricians in 2017, it was discovered that only 1% of fracture cases, which was the least, was recorded amongst teenagers who are sporty in nature. However, taking a look at it from the flip side, is physical recreation really necessary? Certainly, the justification for this argument is much likely to the fact that there are some contraindications and restrictions regarding being physically active. Although, these games are helpful, they can as well be detrimental to some individuals with certain health conditions. To exemplify, running, jumping and cycling are prohibited among youngsters, who are asthmatic by health professionals as published in the Sun Newspaper in April, 2019. Personally, I consent to the hilt that sports should not be mandatory. This is because, there are important health issues to be considered to avoid negative consequences for these students. In conclusion, having explored both perspectives, I recapitulate that physical games in academic life should not be made obligatory; in other words, it should be voluntary.