Many developed countries are giving financial aid to poor countries. However, this hasn’t solved the problem of poverty in these nations and so other types of help are needed. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

The problem of richer countries getting richer and poor countries getting poorer has been around for a long time. Even though some countries with financial stability keep assisting less fortunate ones, the issue does not seem to be solving itself. I am of the opinion that there are more efficient ways to help poor nations, which will be discussed in this essay. Firstly and most importantly, the governments of rich regions should start creating an environment for development and improvement in underdeveloped ones. This can be done through optimising and improving education levels and providing some modern technology. Developing high standard education programmes will result in children becoming more knowledgeable about multiple areas and will get an opportunity to become highly skilled employees in certain fields. This will lead to poorer societies becoming self-sufficient and decreasing their dependencies on their neighbours. Secondly, implementing fair trade conditions would also help to boost the economy and create more workplaces. In some cases, fair trade is very challenging for poor nations, which can be explained by historical reasons such as colonisation. Implementing international rules and guidelines around trade will result in individuals being able to provide for their families, allocate some budget for leisure and even travel inside their homelands. In conclusion, the issue of providing aid to underdeveloped countries is rather multifaced and complex. From my point of view, financial aid by itself won't solve the problem and the approach of improving the quality of education and creating more job places should be used.