Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that liberal arts subjects, such as drama and music, should be considered as equally essential as other subjects in primary schools. I strongly agree with the notion because those subjects not only embed creativity in children but also teach them morality, a crucial element needed in developed countries. One of the reasons why liberal arts education should be as compulsory as science-related subjects is that it equips pupils with creativity, a 21st-century skill that is highly valued in most modern workplaces. Arts and literature reflect human interaction, and by getting a grasp knowledge on how these things work, students will comprehend better and be more prepared for their future employment. For instance, to increase the rate of its graduates being employed, Yale-NUS College in Singapore promotes the study of liberal arts subjects and encourages its students to do internships in the local communities, which, in the end, allows them to perform well both academically and professionally. Moreover, liberal arts subjects are believed to be important because they teach morality. When students are introduced to knowledge on how to differentiate between right and wrong through subjects such as civic education, they will understand clearly what is considered morally right. For instance, many primary schools in Japan pay high attention to student behaviours, and it is compulsory that they are taught to be well-disciplined and respectful to the elders. As a result, Japan became one of the most civilised societies, known for its people’s morality. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the study of art, drama and music should be valued and considered as imperative as other science-related subjects because they teach pupils creativity and morality, a skill and an attribute that are necessary to perform well in their future work.