Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Most of the youngsters are pursuing shopping as an activity to pass their leisure time. This trend is attributed to the increased use of adverts by companies to attract more and more buyers; however, it is a negative development because individuals- in this way- lose their financial resources, I believe. Unprecedented use of advertisements is acting as a magnet to persuade adults to buy new things. Companies, these days, have endorsed their recently unveiled products with the help of film or sports celebrities with a view to enticing potential buyers. This practice has resulted in the sales of products being skyrocketed as people, especially adults, often tend to imitate their favourite stars and the products used by them. Hence, more and more people are purchasing new items. Prada- one of the largest internationally owned fashion chains- is using famous Hollywood Stars to embrace their products recorded a threefold rise in their sales as soon as they started promoting their products in this way. However, shopping as an avocation can put an individual in a heavy financial strain. With a profound impact of commercials, youngsters are recklessly spending their earnings on the things, which they even do not need, making themselves grapple with their financial situation. Further use of plastic money to acquire new goods aggravates the situation as they eventually end up in heavy debt or often bankruptcy. In a recent research conducted by Bajaj Financery, it was revealed that young individuals usually overspend, making themselves fall prey to colossal debts. In conclusion, adults are purchasing more and more items by the influence of advertisements, but it is, by and large, a negative phenomenon, given the economic strain it delivers to shoppers.