Nowadays more people are living by themselves. What are the reasons for this? Will this have a negative or a positive impact on the society?

Through the ages, people had always fought for liberty and equality. In recent times, it is observed that a majority of people are comfortable in living alone rather marrying and raising children. I would argue that living by oneself is much more beneficial in several ways, although there are a few reservations in leading such a kind of life to the society in the long run. To begin with, human life is so endearing if there are less responsibilities. Firstly, people who live by themselves can devote all of their precious time only for their betterment. They don’t need to worry too much about the inflation level as long as they earn a decent salary. Furthermore, various travelling groups are mushrooming elsewhere to cater to the needs of solo travellers. In addition to that, there would be neither divorces nor any relationship crisis. As per the reports of various psychologists, people who don’t try to fit into the rules which is written by the society are seemingly delighted to succeed in their life, as they don’t suffer any family pressure unlike the married people. For example, our former Indian president Mr. Abdul Kalaam who lived all alone by himself, had devoted his entire life for modernising the Indian space research. Having said that, can we deliberately say that all single people achieve success? It would spell a doomed response. Living alone would not pose much challenge until one attains super-annuation from their job or becoming a septuagenarian or octogenarian. When one’s health is affected, these people would not have any of their siblings or kids to support their ill-health. Moreover, humans tend to look for helping hands, especially when they grow old. Finally, if people relinquish the marriage duties or not making children at right age would definitely affect the country’s youthful population. Thereby, making the entire country’s population as old and sick. For example, the Japanese government is on tenterhooks about their declining human resources. Because of the spike in the ageing population coupled with less number of youths in their workforce. In conclusion, as far as I am concerned, living alone is a beneficial phenomenon for which there are a number of significant advantages. However, we cannot afford a society to grow with lonely people. Therefore, in my opinion happiness index varies from people to people. So it is up to the individual’s choice of living alone or to make a family.