Research into new types of medicine and treatments are essential for improve health and deal with diseases. Who do you think should fund these researches: private companies, individuals or governments?

It is important to cure diseases and enhance health, therefore, researching into current medical treatments and drugs must have proper investment. Though governments and individuals benefit if health is improved, private companies should be responsible for investigation funds. In this essay, I will argue why I believe pharmaceutical enterprises must be held accountable for new medical developments. In the last couple centuries, humans have experienced a dramatic increase of life expectancy as a consequence of improved medical treatments. People take medicine for granted, but in the past, drugs were not as developed as they are today. Moreover, with the discovery of new diseases every day, the importance of research and development becomes a priority. Take for example a complicated condition such as cancer, whether government subsidizes its treatment or private insurance takes over a patient’s care, it all comes down to improved drugs in order to ease recovery. Consequently, funding for investigative projects must come from private capital. Furthermore, companies should prioritize innovation to ensure progress in medical treatments. While pharmaceutical companies compete in the marketplace, governments should serve as observers so that individuals are as protected as possible from the abuses of companies holding a dominant position. For instance, the search for a cure for a serious disease like AIDS, the auto-immune deficiency syndrome, needs to be proactively imposed by governments by incentivizing large companies with tax-cuts and long-term help. Ultimately, patients should be given these treatments to live their life with dignity. To conclude, humans evolve continuously and new diseases are discovered every day. Therefore, research becomes an essential part of medical treatment because human well-being is not a static feature. In addition to this, the pharmaceutical industry benefits largely from private projects because the market dynamics are based upon competition. Lastly, the greater the investment in research, the better the chance of successfully developing new drugs to improve health.