Most countries are compared by their economic success. Do you think there are some other important factors that need to be taken into consideration? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

The economy is recognized as the most objective indicator of a nation's success. Therefore, countries with high GDPs are widely accepted as authoritative compared to one's with lower GDPs. However, in my opinion, statistics regarding financial data cannot represent the whole state. This essay will evaluate various factors besides the economy, that should also be considered when deciding a country's international status. First of all, the quality of public service run by the government can be compared. Not all governments with sufficient money establish good public infrastructure. Take the US as an example. The US is the strongest nation in diverse criteria, including financial status. However, their public healthcare service is said to be one of the poorest in the world. Hence, the US citizen's satisfaction rate with the government is lower than that of other nations which are weaker in aspects of one's economy but have a great national healthcare system, such as Korea or Cuba. In conclusion, it can be argued that factors that are strongly linked to people's daily life are an important part that should be examined. Moreover, the public happiness rate is becoming a casting vote in terms of deciding a nation's success. Many people misunderstand that wealth and happiness are in a directly proportional relationship. But the reality is different from what was expected. A study revealed that Bangladesh, one of the countries which has the lowest GDP had the highest happiness rate of the public. On the other hand, the happiness indicator of the public of major nations which lead the world was not necessarily higher than others. Hence, it is once again proven that success is not only dependent on financial status. To sum up, there is no doubt about the fact that money is an efficient quantitative measurement to compare the international status of nations. Nonetheless, other criteria such as people's satisfaction with public infrastructure and daily happiness status should be taken into consideration for more meaningful contrast.