Some people think that it is a good idea to give children a small amount of money each week to spend on what they would like. Other people think that this is wrong and that it is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some that allocating a weekly stipend to children to spend is a welcome idea while others believed that such action is frivolous. In my opinion, I believe that giving a youngster money for personal use helps to learn money management, but can also result in compulsive buying habit. On the one hand, many think it is a good idea to allow youth to have money at their disposal as it gives them a good head start to mastering their finances. In other words, when a teenager has fixed income per time, he can be held accountable for his spending and saving ability early in life. Prudence is learned over time and requires real life experience which can only be achieved when the kid have control over their personal wealth. On the other hand, availing too much liquidity to a minor may result in impulse buying. As babies, the urge to possess is never ending. When such an appetite for material acquisition is backed with the right amount of financial power, then, purchasing will no longer be purposeful but an act of compulsion which could lead to materialism or obsession for things. Finally, in my opinion, whether a child should readily have access to liquid money or not should depend on the age of the child. For instance, it will amount to utter waste of resources if a six-year old is being credited with 300 dollars weekly. This is because he lacks the skill or competence to manage such amount of capital. In contrast, a fifteen-year old female might require some token to take care of her private affairs considering that the age is associated with changes in her physiology and will need some items for cleanliness. In conclusion, entrusting children with weekly token or not should be hinged on how old the child is. The parent should ensure that age limitation is taken into account before giving cash to their children in order to be sure that the money will not be wasted.