Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays the use of bicycles as a form of transportation has decreased. Many people still prefer cars while others instead travel by public transportation. The governments can ramp up their effort to invest in strategies that encourage people to use bicycles more, such as planning the construction of cycle lanes which make it easier to move around the cities by bike. As said before, it has been registered a reduction in the use of bicycles as a form of transportation. Firstly, sometimes it is due to the fact that the distances between houses and workplaces are pretty far, which makes it difficult to use bikes. Secondly, having encouraged the reduction of the price of annual subscriptions to public transportation makes people prefer those. Lastly, the development of electric cars makes cars popular again because now those can be used in all parts of the city, including city centers. For instance, in many big cities now electric cars can be used to travel also in the traffic limited zones. On the other hand, governments can encourage people to use bicycles by investing in public campaigns that explain how they can have a good impact both on physical health and on the environment, to contrast climate change. Bicycles give people the chance to introduce some sport into their daily habits which can have a great impact on their health. In addition, using bicycles helps decrease the production of toxic gas that comes also from public transportation, which has a negative impact on the environment. However, to encourage their use it can be necessary to increase the number of cycle lanes in cities. For example, it has been seen that also in cities where bicycles have never been used until that moment, the construction of cycle lanes pushes people to start using them. To conclude, I believe that people can be easily encouraged to use bicycles as a form of transportation if there are policies which really work on practical solutions to make their use advantaged. Otherwise, people will continue to prefer other forms of transportation.